
Restraint Use and Motorcycle Helmet Use Laws 
 

Restraint Use Laws 
 

The first mandatory belt use law was enacted in the New York in 1984. Adult belt use laws are 
now in effect in 49 States, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. The laws differ from State 
to State, according to the type and age of the vehicle, occupant age and seating position, etc. 
The goal of these laws is to promote belt use and thereby reduce deaths and injuries in motor 
vehicle crashes. 
 
In 2022 there were 34 States, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico that had primary seat 
belt laws in effect, enabling law enforcement officers to stop vehicles and write citations when 
they observed violations of the seat belt law. In 15 States the laws specified secondary 
enforcement, meaning that law enforcement officers were permitted to write citations only 
after a vehicle was stopped for some other traffic infraction. New Hampshire is the only State 
without a seat belt law for adults, although it does have a primary child passenger safety law 
that covers all drivers and passengers under age 18. 
 
The first mandatory child restraint use law was implemented in Tennessee in 1978. Since 1985, 
all 50 States and the District of Columbia have had child restraint use laws in effect. Child 
restraint use laws differ from State to State, in terms of the ages of children covered and in 
other important ways, including height and weight limits, seating position requirements, and 
various exemptions and exceptions. 
 
The most current information on seat belt laws and child passenger safety laws is available on 
the website of the Governors Highway Safety Association (GHSA) at www.ghsa.org: 

• Seat belt laws—www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/laws/seatbelt_laws.html 
• Child passenger safety laws—www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/laws/childsafety_laws.html. 

 
In 2022 seat belt use rates in the United States ranged from 75.6 percent in Virginia to 96.5 
percent in Oregon. Twenty-Six States and the District of Columbia achieved belt use rates of 
90.0 percent or higher. These results are from probability-based observational surveys 
conducted by 50 States, the District of Columbia, and U.S. Territories. The nationwide seat belt 
use rate in 2022 was 91.6 percent, as measured by NHTSA's National Occupant Protection Use 
Survey (NOPUS). NOPUS is a national probability-based survey, which is independent from State 
belt use surveys. Observed seat belt use rates for the States and the Nation in 2022 can be 
found in Seat Belt Use in 2022—Use Rates in the States and Territories. 
 
Motorcycle Helmet Use Laws 
 
In 2022 there were 18 States, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico that required helmet 
use by all motorcyclists. In 29 States helmet use was required for only a subset of motorcyclists 
(typically, motorcyclists under age 18), and three States (Illinois, Iowa, and New Hampshire) do 
not require helmet use for motorcyclists of any age. 

http://www.ghsa.org/
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/laws/seatbelt_laws.html
http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/laws/childsafety_laws.html
https://crashstats.nhtsa.dot.gov/Api/Public/ViewPublication/813487
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The most current information on helmet use laws is available on the GHSA website at 
www.ghsa.org/state-laws/issues/motorcyclists. 
 
According to results from NOPUS, the overall rate of DOT-compliant motorcycle helmet use in 
the United States was 66.5 percent in 2022. Helmet use continued to be significantly higher in 
States that required all motorcyclists to be helmeted than in other States. In 2022 DOT 
compliant motorcycle helmet use in States requiring all to use helmets was 81.5 percent 
compared to 56.2 percent in other States. Information on motorcycle helmet use in 2022 can 
be found in Motorcycle Helmet Use in 2022—Overall Results. 
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